• Home
  • Alumni & Friends
  • Alumni Advisory Board

Physics & Astronomy Alumni Board

The Physics and Astronomy Alumni Board (PAAB) was established in 2006 . Its primary role, as approved by the Department of Physics and Astronomy, is as follows: the Physics & Astronomy Alumni Board (PAAB) will advise & assist the Department of Physics and Astronomy with their stated mission of education, research, and service by contributing their time, talent, and financial support. Specifically, the PAAB shall:

  • assist and advise the Department in maintaining effective communication with alumni of the Department;
  • advise faculty and students on current and future trends in Physics and Astronomy;
  • assist and advise the Department on fund-raising efforts and aid in the identification of future sources of support;
  • assist with equipment and facility needs.

The PAAB was initially established with 6 members and met for the first time in Spring 2007. Board membership expanded annually until membership of 10 was attained in Spring 2010. In Spring 2013, the PAAB was restructured and expanded. It now includes a Board Chairperson and four subcommittees: Development, Industry/Government Labs, Student Affairs, Alumni Relations. Each subcommittee has four members, including a chairperson, and a faculty liaison. Members of the Board can be communicated with by email either individually, using the addresses listed below after each bio, or by contacting the Department at physics@ku.edu.  Upon completion of a term, Board members are designated as Associate Members of the Board. The year for completion of their term on the Board is listed for each associate member below.

As of April 2019, the structure of the Board and its Subcommittees is as follows:

PAAB  –  Colleen McKee - CHAIR


Development  -  Rebecca Chaky - Chair

Michael Rasmussen

James Pintar

Daniel Tapia Takaki (Faculty Liaison)

Industry/Government Lab  – Lindley Johnson – Chair

Daniel Nunes

Caitlin Rochford Friedman

Laura Stiles

Hui Zhao (Faculty Liaison)

Student Affairs - Doug McKay – Chair

Ron Gilliland

Patrick Sterner

Judy Yu

Chris Fischer (Faculty Liaison)

Alumni Relations – Joe Shields – Chair

Bruce Barrett

Ina Robertson

Connie Wells

Steve Sanders (Faculty Liaison)


Principal Engineer - Engineering Staff SES Engineering
Rebecca Chaky
Owner/CEO: Never Done Press, Retired as Principal Engineer, Boeing Corp.
Michael Rasmussen
Retired: Boeing/McDonnell Douglas Currently: Website Developer
James Pintar
Data Systems Manager- NOAO: retired
Vice-President for Research; Dean of the Graduate College; Professor, Physics & Astronomy - Ohio University
Bruce Barrett
Professor of Physics, University of Arizona
Daniel Nunes
SHARAD Investigation Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Dr. Doug McKay
6050E Malott Hall
Judy Yu
Specializes in tech transfer commercializing university research
Mike Allen
Issue Management Exxon-Mobil Corp.
Kessel, Ramona L.
Alumni Advisory Board: Associate Member, Space Physicist NASA HQ, Washington, DC
VP for Product Engineering - Lockheed Martin Corporation, Retired
Professor, Physics and Astronomy, Ohio State University
Physicist & Electrical Engineer, Retired (Deceased)
Tom Laming
Private Investor and Consultant
Associate Member, Alumni Advisory Board (2010), Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Villanova University