Astronomy Associates of Lawrence

The Astronomy Associates of Lawrence (AAL) is an organization of students and community members interested in Astronomy. This organization elects its own officers. Faculty Advisor: Prof. Bruce Twarog.

Departmental Assembly

The Departmental Assembly is the constituted body for full departmental meetings. The Department provides for the inclusion of regularly enrolled students in both its Departmental Assembly and its policy-making committees. The number of students in each body is at least 20 percent of the number of faculty members who hold the rank of instructor or above and who serve on that body. The Departmental Assembly is comprised of the entire faculty, plus student members of the Committees on Graduate Studies and Undergraduate Studies.

Graduate Studies

This committee comprises seven faculty members appointed by the department chairperson and two current graduate students. This committee handles graduate student petitions and reviews the program and student progress.

Society of Physics Students and Sigma Pi Sigma

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is open to all persons with an interest in physics. Sigma Pi Sigma is the physics honors society within SPS with scholastic requirements for membership. SPS is a member society of the American Institute of Physics. This organization elects its own officers and also nominates the student representatives (both graduate and undergraduate) to the Departmental Assembly. Faculty Advisors: Prof. Barbara Anthony-Twarog and Prof. Dave Besson